Poem · Small Stones

A New Year and Small Stones

Time travels so fast and another year has gone. Reflecting on the past year I realise that 2016 taught me a valuable lesson and that is you need to allow time for yourself. I started the year working extra hours, then volunteering for the remaining hours I had free during the day. The rest of the time I shared with my family, which is obviously highly important but I didn’t keep on top of the tasks I needed to do or manage to get near anything I wanted to do. I have given up with New Year Resolutions but someone mentioned to me about having one word to focus on for the year ahead so looking back at my poor time management during 2016 my chosen word for 2017 is ‘BALANCE’.

One thing I have deeply missed is writing, I have barely  put pencil to paper, despite promising myself that I would so many times, I need to change this. Back in 2013 I took part in a writing challenge called ‘Small Stones’. It taught me to be aware of my surroundings and to be present in the moment. Mindful writing I suppose is the best description. I’ve decided to revisit this and take on this challenge again for January, so here is my short post for today.

The water is calm down by the river,
It gently takes my stresses away.
Birds hide in the branches of the surrounding trees.
Joyful singing on this New Years Day

Leave a Reply

