Prose · Writing 101

Writing 101: To Whom it May Concern

Dear Thomas,

I was too young to remember the first time you visited our family, although I’ve heard the story many times and you certainly made an impression.

You lived with us until I was 5 years old and I still remember the day you left like it was yesterday. I couldn’t understand why my Mum wouldn’t allow you to have a dog stay at our house. I would have loved to have a dog and I’m sure that’s why you got one.

Despite leaving you have never really been too far away. You often return for a visit and make your presence known. Did you really have to hide so many things meaning we had to ask for your help, or was that all just part of the game? As for the lettuce leaves, why did you have pick them all and neatly pile them next to the stumps. I’m sure you were just trying to wind my mother up; although it failed, she knew it was you and just got cross.

Over the years it’s been fun. You are certainly the best imaginary friend anyone could have.

N.


Prompt: Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration.

I’m currently reading ‘The Scorch Trials’ by James Dashner. ‘Thoma’s was the word that jumped off page 29 for me. 

Twist: write the post in the form of a letter.

One thought on “Writing 101: To Whom it May Concern

Leave a Reply

