Prose · Writing 101

Writing 101: A Brief Note

It’s impossible to rush when walking into the wind and carrying two heavy shopping bags but I was determined not to miss my bus. My arms felt like they had grown at least a foot but I could finally see the bus stop ahead… and the bus drive past me! I put my head down and try to walk quicker. A gust of wind blows some rubbish up from the ground making it stick to my coat. I Ignore it I keep walking and am relieved when I reach the bus stop and climb onto the bus.

I take a seat near the front and as I sit down notice that the rubbish from my coat was now on the floor by my feet. I pick it up and realise that it’s a folded sheet of paper, too neat to be a piece of rubbish. I was curious and so start to unfold it and discover that it is a note, I can feel the colour drain from my face as I read the words:

MY HEART IS BREAKING.
PLEASE FIND SOMEONE TO LOOK AFTER MY BABY.
SHE DESERVES MORE THAN I CAN GIVE HER.

I start to panic. Is there an abandoned baby lying somewhere? Or is the baby safe and the letter was lost after being read? Where is the baby’s mother? Will she get the help she needs?

There is no doubt about it, I need to get off this bus right now!!

4 thoughts on “Writing 101: A Brief Note

  1. I really liked this piece. I felt like I was beginning a novel. For this assignment I think I would have left off the last line. I felt such a rush of uncertainty after the previous paragraph and I would have liked contemplating that a bit longer.

    1. Thank you.
      Re-reading it with fresh eyes after reading your comment I agree. It does give it a different feel when the last line is dropped especially as it doesn’t really give any more information about the situation. Thank you for taking the time to comment :-).

Leave a Reply

