Uncategorized

Mum’s Cooking

Most people would be quick to say how much they love their mum’s cooking, I know I have my favourites that my own mum makes. Sadly I’m not so sure my children will feel the same way about my cooking, their dad is a much better cook… well he should be he is a chef. 

I’ve had the occasional disaster in the kitchen and this has inspired me to write this poem, which I’m sure is how my children feel when I’m in charge of the cooking.

 

Mum’s Cooking

Oh what a disaster 

When Mum’s in the kitchen

Everything’s burning,

The food comes out black.

Come home from work Daddy,

All of us waiting

We love all your cooking

Please hurry back.

 

The fire alarm’s ringing

It’s hurting my ears

There’s smoke in the kitchen

It’s so hard to see.

Mum’s frantically waving

A tea towel around

Trying to stop it from ringing

But she’s still burnt my tea.

 

With baked beans like stones

Fish fingers like charcoal

And chips that go ‘clunk’

As they land on the plate.

I look at my dinner

I look at the clock

Dad you can still save us

Hurry please don’t be late.

 

‘I’m sorry’ Mum said

As she sat at the table

‘It’s fine’ I reply

In a smiley happy way.

I eat what I can 

But the meal is not pleasing

Please hurry home Dad,

What’s the delay? 

 

A yummy dessert

ice-cream on a stick.

I open the wrapper

It goes SPLAT on the floor.

Looking down at the mess

I call out and ask,

‘Mum, I think you forgot

To close the freezer door!!’ 

 

Oh what a disaster 

When Mum’s in the kitchen

Everything’s burning,

The food comes out black.

Come home from work Daddy,

All of us waiting

We love all your cooking

Please hurry back!!

3 thoughts on “Mum’s Cooking

Leave a Reply

